The Gospel Poem

 

His Wisdom shone forthresurrection3

On Calvary’s tree

And shown to mankind

God’s blessed decree!

Wrath, yet mercy’s beauty –

No indulgence was free.

 

“Finished!” came the cry

Submission sealed in word;

On Crimson blotted weathered wood

The Church in Him was gird.

Far better than the blood of rams,

The Elect now walk assured!

 

The Lord, The Lord, just and holy,

While He loved His precious Son

Laid His Righteous wrath upon Him

Forsook Him as His will was done

The Carpenter sighed… then limply hung.

Behold – a greater Priest than Aaron!

 

They locked Him in a guarded grave

And the damned devils danced with glee

The Eleven hid in despairing doubt

Till Christ appeared in victory!

Then spread their message through the world:

“HE HAS RISEN, and so shall we!”

 

 

– by Asa Hart

 

4 Comments

Filed under Christian Theology, Cross, Poetry

4 responses to “The Gospel Poem

  1. asadawg

    Brandy, given that you are an English major, I value your feedback. I think I should have put eight lines into each stanze in order to give the poem a better rhythm… this one is a hodge podge thing that kind of seems like a train wreck in terms of poetry. I like to think that the theology is spot on though!

  2. Hey Asa,

    Just a question, are the unusually capitalized words in the poem (Crimson, Eleven, Elect, Righteous, Church) done so purposely? I’m not trying to be the grammar police, sometimes punctuation and capitalization is purposeful and for effect. I understand why Carpenter, Priest, and Son are capitalized.

    I like the alliteration in the final paragraph. You might try and put some earlier in the poem.

    Good theology! I like the poem.

    Richey

  3. asadawg

    Thanks, Richey. Umm.. Church, Elect, and Eleven (I like the NIV’s Acts 2:14) I believe should all be capitalized… Elect being the most questionable… but as I was referring to a specific elect, a nation – the Church – I decided capitalization was key. Crimson and Righteous were capitalized in my brainstorm and rough draft. I decided they would best be left capitalized, as I wanted those themes to be emphasized – Crimson for the dramatic effect of detail, and Righteous as the wrath of God is often mistaken as lashing out in anger and being controlled completely by emotion.

    Maybe I thought a little too hard on those things if no one gets them but me.

    Asa

  4. Cool. I thought the capitalization probably had significance. Poetry is meant to be pondered and mused over. The more significance hidden in the seemingly insignificant details the better.

Leave a Reply

